NOW This is a view of the summit of Mount Olympus. This hilltop has a fascinating history: An empty pedestal is now at the top of the 570-foot hill. From 1887 until 1955, there was a twelve-foot-high concrete statue on top of the now-empty pedestal. Titled “Triumph of Light,” the statue showed Lady Liberty. The statue was given to the City of San Francisco by Adolph Sutro in 1887. The statue remained on the top of Mount Olympus for sixty-eight years, and it had a hard life. The concrete weathered and crumbled; water was causing the statue’s metal support rods to rust, and so in 1955, the city decided to remove the statue because it was deemed to be a hazard. This pedestal is the last remaining portion of the “Triumph of Light” statue installation. Mount Olympus is located near the geographical center of San Francisco. This view is looking northwest.
THEN The Triumph of Light Statue as seen on the top of Mount Olympus in 1888. A plaque on the pedestal reads "Erected by Adolph Sutro 1887" This view is looking west across undeveloped Cole Valley. Golden Gate Park and Strawberry Hill are visible in the right background. Thanks to the Western Neighborhoods Project for the use of this photo.
This is all that now remains of the Rocky Hill brick kiln building. This location is adjacent to State Street.
This is a view from Corona Heights Park looking northeast.
This is a view looking southwest from near the summit of Corona Heights Park. Ahead is Sutro Tower and the Public Safety Radio Towers.
This house is located at 22 Beaver Street. The residence was constructed in 1870 by silver refiner Jacob Benedict. It is an Italianate style dwelling that was erected near Rocky Hill, now known as Corona Heights Park. The home was converted to a boarding house after the 1906 earthquake and later used as a hippie crash-pad. Beginning in 1966, after a change of ownership and years of neglect, the building underwent a decades-long restoration. The property has recently been designated San Francisco Landmark #284.